Rudresh Mahanthappa And Samdhi, Live In Concert: Newport Jazz 2012

Aug 5, 2012
Originally published on June 18, 2014 3:03 pm

Buoyed by a Guggenheim Fellowship, the alto saxophonist Rudresh Mahanthappa made an album in 2008 which integrated his love of South Asian music and funk and hip-hop and electronic music and kitchen sinks. He's finally getting to tour the music of the record Samdhi now, and with guitar (David Gilmore) and bass guitar (Rich Brown), it's electric, literally and figuratively.

Set List

  • "Killer"
  • "Enhanced Performance"
  • "Playing With Stones"
  • "breakfastlunchanddinner"
  • "For All The Ladies"


  • Rudresh Mahanthappa, alto saxophone/laptop
  • David Gilmore, guitar
  • Rich Brown, electric bass
  • Rudy Royston, drums
Copyright 2014 WBGO-FM. To see more, visit