Kelly McEvers http://wvasfm.org en On Calif. Cattle Ranch, Students Wrangle With Meaning Of Manhood http://wvasfm.org/post/calif-cattle-ranch-students-wrangle-meaning-manhood <em>For </em>All Things Considered<em>'s </em>"<a href="http://www.npr.org/series/323986426/men-in-america">Men in America</a>"<em> series, NPR's Kelly McEvers sent this report on Deep Springs College — the all-male college that her husband attended, and where he and McEvers have both taught. </em><p>About a hundred years ago, a man named L.L. Nunn was building power plants in the American West. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 21:52:00 +0000 Kelly McEvers 51146 at http://wvasfm.org Farm Workers' Low Wages Hinder San Joaquin Valley's Economy http://wvasfm.org/post/farm-workers-low-wages-hinder-san-joaquin-valleys-economy Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>OK, that's the national picture. Let's zoom in on a region that stands out for its high unemployment, Central California's San Joaquin Valley. NPR's Kelly McEvers went to find out why it's so hard to get a job amid some of the most productive farmland on earth.<p>(SOUNDBITE OF PHONE RINGING)<p>UNIDENTIFIED MAN 1: Employment Development Department, work force services.<p>KELLY MCEVERS, BYLINE: It's first thing in the morning. Fri, 06 Jun 2014 09:08:00 +0000 Kelly McEvers 49298 at http://wvasfm.org 17 Primary Candidates Vie For Rep. Henry Waxman's Seat http://wvasfm.org/post/17-primary-candidates-vie-rep-henry-waxmans-seat When the Democrat from Southern California announced his retirement earlier this year, he opened up a seat that had been occupied for decades. The top-two vote getters will face off in November. Mon, 02 Jun 2014 09:11:00 +0000 Kelly McEvers 49055 at http://wvasfm.org Albuquerque Police Face Federal Scrutiny, Local Outrage http://wvasfm.org/post/albuquerque-police-face-federal-scrutiny-local-outrage Kenneth Ellis III was shot and killed by police in a 7-Eleven parking lot in Albuquerque, N.M.<p>He is among the dozens of people local police have shot over the last four years, 25 of whom have died. The U.S. Thu, 22 May 2014 07:31:00 +0000 Kelly McEvers 48476 at http://wvasfm.org Albuquerque Police Face Federal Scrutiny, Local Outrage Spouses Of H1B Visa Holders May Soon Be Able To Hold U.S. Jobs http://wvasfm.org/post/spouses-h1b-visa-holders-may-soon-be-able-hold-us-jobs Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>With immigration reform a non-starter in Congress, those advocating reform have been urging the Obama administration to make changes on its own. And the first of those changes was announced this week. It involves the guest visa program known as H1B that allows highly skilled professionals from other countries to come to work in the U.S. The change would allow nearly 100,000 spouses of H1B visa holders to work as well. NPR's Kelly McEvers has the story.<p>KELLY MCEVERS, BYLINE: Back in India, Priyancka More got a management degree and an MBA. Thu, 08 May 2014 13:53:00 +0000 Kelly McEvers 47680 at http://wvasfm.org Why Is A French Economist's 700-Page Book So Popular? http://wvasfm.org/post/why-french-economists-700-page-book-so-popular French economist Thomas Piketty's book, Capital in the Twenty-First Century, has become a sensation. He's been all over the media, and he's lecturing to packed houses on his current U.S. tour. Wed, 30 Apr 2014 10:12:00 +0000 Kelly McEvers 47213 at http://wvasfm.org Hoping To Slim POW-MIA Bureaucracy, Hagel Makes One Out Of Two http://wvasfm.org/post/hoping-slim-pow-mia-bureaucracy-hagel-makes-one-out-two Secretary of Defense Chuck Hagel announced the creation of a new defense agency charged with merging the multiple divisions currently responsible for finding and identifying the more than 80,000 members missing from past conflicts. A five-month investigation by NPR and the independent news agency ProPublica had found the U.S. recovery effort to be slow, inefficient and stymied by outdated methods. <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 NPR. Mon, 31 Mar 2014 20:04:00 +0000 Kelly McEvers 45565 at http://wvasfm.org Capitol's Immigration Stagnation Gets Dreamers Moving On The Border http://wvasfm.org/post/capitols-immigration-stagnation-gets-dreamers-moving-border With deportations at a record high under the Obama administration, and with immigration reform stalled in Congress, Dreamer protest groups are trying to keep the issue alive with actions of their own. Wed, 19 Mar 2014 20:31:00 +0000 Kelly McEvers 44932 at http://wvasfm.org U.S. Grave Science Marked By Risk Aversion And Bureaucracy http://wvasfm.org/post/us-grave-science-marked-risk-aversion-and-bureacracy In part two of <a href="http://apps.npr.org/grave-science/">a joint investigation by NPR and ProPublica</a>, we look at the agency charged with bringing home and identifying the 83,000 American war dead. It's stymied by an extreme aversion to risk. See the <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 NPR. Fri, 07 Mar 2014 21:09:00 +0000 Kelly McEvers 44271 at http://wvasfm.org U.S. Grave Science Marked By Risk Aversion And Bureaucracy Thousands Fall From Middle Class After RV Industry Collapse http://wvasfm.org/post/thousands-fall-middle-class-after-rv-industry-collapse Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>We're going to take a close look, now, at the human cost when an industry shuts down. Oregon has kept detailed records on what happened to thousands of people who lost their jobs when the state's RV manufacturing industry imploded during the recession. Since then, many workers dropped from middle wage to low wage earners, a trend playing out across the United States. Some fared even worse. Tue, 24 Dec 2013 11:59:00 +0000 Kelly McEvers 40177 at http://wvasfm.org