Sports http://wvasfm.org en Woman Will Officiate Big 12 Football Game For The First Time http://wvasfm.org/post/woman-will-officiate-big-12-football-game-first-time Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>Good morning. I'm Steve Inskeep with congratulations to Catherine Conti. Cat Conti will be the first woman to officiate a football game in the Big 12 Conference. She'll be part of the crew when Kansas plays Southeast Missouri State. The officiating supervisor says she got that job because she's, quote, "darned good." Kansas coach Charlie Weis says because of Ms. Conti, he will try not to swear as much.<p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>Actually, Coach Weis, equality means curse away.<p>INSKEEP: It's [bleep] MORNING EDITION. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 09:25:00 +0000 editor 51796 at http://wvasfm.org Learning To Love The Ocean After A Lifetime Of Fearing It http://wvasfm.org/post/learning-love-ocean-after-lifetime-fearing-it Tim Bomba is a tall, rangy guy with a quick smile and a penchant for off-color jokes. He's a marathoner, a triathlete (he's done two Ironman races), and every Wednesday morning for the last decade, Bomba has taught a ocean swimming course in Santa Monica, Calif.<p>The course, called Ocean 101, isn't for accomplished swimmers like Bomba. It's for people who are new to the ocean, and many participants are afraid of the water when they arrive. Bomba knows what they're going through. Sat, 19 Jul 2014 21:05:00 +0000 NPR Staff 51709 at http://wvasfm.org Learning To Love The Ocean After A Lifetime Of Fearing It It's Not The Size Of This Sumo Wrestler That's Stunning http://wvasfm.org/post/its-not-size-sumo-wrestler-thats-stunning <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rhZ-xW-9YQA</p> Sat, 19 Jul 2014 19:44:00 +0000 Eugene S. Robinson 51706 at http://wvasfm.org It's Not The Size Of This Sumo Wrestler That's Stunning Why An African-American Sports Pioneer Remains Obscure http://wvasfm.org/post/why-african-american-sports-pioneer-remains-obscure Alice Coachman Davis never entered the pantheon of breakthrough African-American sports heroes, like Jesse Owens or Wilma Rudolph. But she was a pioneer nonetheless.<p>In 1948, competing as Alice Coachman, she became the first African-American woman to win Olympic gold, breaking the U.S. and Olympic records in the high jump.<p>Chances are, you've never heard of her. Sat, 19 Jul 2014 17:40:00 +0000 Alan Greenblatt 51704 at http://wvasfm.org Why An African-American Sports Pioneer Remains Obscure What It Takes To Be A Champion http://wvasfm.org/post/what-it-takes-be-champion Transcript <p>SCOTT SIMON, HOST: <p>The Olympic motto is faster, higher, stronger. And year after year, athletes seem to live up to those words, but how?<p>(SOUNDBITE OF ARCHIVED BROADCAST)<p>DAVID EPSTEIN: We definitely are better. Although, it sort of depends how you look at the question because in some ways, we might not be as much better as we like to believe.<p>SIMON: David Epstein writes about sports science. He spoke to Guy Raz at the Ted Radio Hour.<p>(SOUNDBITE OF ARCHIVED BROADCAST)<p>GUY RAZ, BYLINE: So consider the 100-meter dash. Sat, 19 Jul 2014 12:11:00 +0000 editor 51686 at http://wvasfm.org In The World Of Global Gestures, The Fist Bump Stands Alone http://wvasfm.org/post/world-global-gestures-fist-bump-stands-alone Back in the 2008 presidential campaign, candidate Barack Obama launched a media storm when he nonchalantly fist bumped his wife Michelle. "Obama's Fist-bump Rocks The Nation!: <em>The Huffington Post</em> <a href="http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2008/06/06/obama-fist-bump-rocks-the_n_105490.html">exclaimed</a>. Sat, 19 Jul 2014 11:08:00 +0000 Nicholas St. Fleur 51684 at http://wvasfm.org In The World Of Global Gestures, The Fist Bump Stands Alone How Do Our Near-Wins Motivate Us To Keep Going? http://wvasfm.org/post/how-do-our-near-wins-motivate-us-keep-going <em>Part 4 of the</em> TED Radio Hour <em>episode</em> <a href="http://www.npr.org/programs/ted-radio-hour/331331360/champions">Champions</a>.<p><strong>About Sarah Lewis' TEDTalk</strong><p>Not everyone can win the gold medal, and historian Sarah Lewis says that's a good thing. It's the near-wins and bare losses that truly motivate us to master our destinies.<p><strong>About Sarah Lewis</strong><p>Author and art historian <a href="https://twitter.com/sarahelizalewis">Sarah Lewis</a> has emerged as a cultural powerhouse for her fresh perspectives on culture, history and identity. Fri, 18 Jul 2014 12:42:00 +0000 NPR/TED Staff 51638 at http://wvasfm.org How Do Our Near-Wins Motivate Us To Keep Going? How Do We Use Our Challenges To Live Beyond Limits? http://wvasfm.org/post/how-do-we-use-our-challenges-live-beyond-limits <em>Part 3 of the</em> TED Radio Hour <em>episode</em> <a href="http://www.npr.org/programs/ted-radio-hour/331331360/champions">Champions</a>.<p><strong>About Amy Purdy's TEDTalk</strong><p>Paralympic snowboarder and "Dancing With the Stars" finalist Amy Purdy tells how losing her legs at age 19 enabled her to achieve more than she ever dreamed.<p><strong>About Amy Purdy</strong><p>Paralympic snowboarder and "<a href="http://abc.go.com/shows/dancing-with-the-stars/cast/amy-purdy">Dancing With the Stars</a>" finalist <a href="http://www.amypurdy.com/">Amy Purdy</a> asks us to take control of ou Fri, 18 Jul 2014 12:42:00 +0000 NPR/TED Staff 51639 at http://wvasfm.org How Do We Use Our Challenges To Live Beyond Limits? Are Athletes Really Getting Faster, Better, Stronger? http://wvasfm.org/post/are-athletes-really-getting-faster-better-stronger <em>Part 2 of the</em> TED Radio Hour <em>episode </em><a href="http://www.npr.org/programs/ted-radio-hour/331331360/champions">Champions</a>.<p><strong>About David Epstein's TEDTalk</strong><p>Humans seem to have gotten faster, better and stronger in almost every way. Fri, 18 Jul 2014 12:42:00 +0000 NPR/TED Staff 51640 at http://wvasfm.org Are Athletes Really Getting Faster, Better, Stronger? What Does It Take To Dive Into Dangerous Waters? http://wvasfm.org/post/what-does-it-take-dive-dangerous-waters <em>Part 1 of the </em>TED Radio Hour<em> episode</em> <a href="http://www.npr.org/programs/ted-radio-hour/331331360/champions">Champions</a>.<p><strong>About Diana Nyad's TedTalk </strong><p>In pitch-black, stung by jellyfish, choking on salt water, hallucinating, Diana Nyad kept swimming. She describes the journey of her historic 110-mile swim from Cuba to Florida, at age 64.<p><strong>About Diana Nyad </strong><p>From 1969 to 1979, <a href="http://www.diananyad.com/">Diana Nyad</a> was known as the world's best long-distance swimmer. Fri, 18 Jul 2014 12:42:00 +0000 editor 51641 at http://wvasfm.org What Does It Take To Dive Into Dangerous Waters?