Archives http://wvasfm.org en State Health Officials Change Policy Concerning Swine Flu http://wvasfm.org/post/state-health-officials-change-policy-concerning-swine-flu <p>MONTGOMERY, Ala. – The new policy will allow the agency to more<br /> quickly identify subtypes of the virus.</p> Fri, 21 Aug 2009 14:51:04 +0000 914 at http://wvasfm.org State Employees See Heath Insurance Premiums Increase http://wvasfm.org/post/state-employees-see-heath-insurance-premiums-increase <p>MONTGOMERY, Ala. – The board voted Wednesday to charge all active employees a<br /> premium of $15 a month.</p> Thu, 20 Aug 2009 11:37:40 +0000 913 at http://wvasfm.org Study Finds State Should Fund PACT Program http://wvasfm.org/post/study-finds-state-should-fund-pact-program <p>MONTGOMERY, Ala. – Riley spokesman Jeff Emerson said Monday the governor is still studying the report.</p> Tue, 18 Aug 2009 13:37:37 +0000 910 at http://wvasfm.org Birmingham's Mayor Can't Afford Lawyer in Bribery Charge http://wvasfm.org/post/birminghams-mayor-cant-afford-lawyer-bribery-charge <p>BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – The judge wrote that Langford is not completely indigent, he just can't afford to pay for representation.</p> Tue, 18 Aug 2009 12:17:18 +0000 908 at http://wvasfm.org Health Department Readying Flu Vaccination Program http://wvasfm.org/post/health-department-readying-flu-vaccination-program <p>MONTGOMERY, Ala. – The state should start receiving doses of the swine flu vaccine in the fall and should eventually have enough to give everyone two doses.</p> Mon, 17 Aug 2009 13:59:43 +0000 906 at http://wvasfm.org Rove Denies Any Role in Siegelman Indictment http://wvasfm.org/post/rove-denies-any-role-siegelman-indictment <p>Birmingham, Alabama – Rove was asked if he had any communication with either Siegelman or anyone in the Alabama U.S. Attorneys' offices - Rove's response was "not that I'm aware of".</p> Wed, 12 Aug 2009 13:59:42 +0000 901 at http://wvasfm.org Lawmakers Consider Bills to Extend Unemployment Benefits http://wvasfm.org/post/lawmakers-consider-bills-extend-unemployment-benefits <p>MONTGOMERY, Ala. – The Senate sponsor, Democratic Sen. Rodger Smitherman of Birmingham, said the bill allows the state to accept about $65 million in federal money to extend the benefits.</p> Wed, 12 Aug 2009 13:48:15 +0000 900 at http://wvasfm.org Senate Gives Final Approval to Jefferson County Occupational Tax http://wvasfm.org/post/senate-gives-final-approval-jefferson-county-occupational-tax <p>MONTGOMERY, Ala. – The bill, once signed into law by the Governor, would help ease a $75 million dollar budget shortfall in Jefferson County.</p> Tue, 11 Aug 2009 15:29:58 +0000 896 at http://wvasfm.org Plant Closing Leaves Hundreds Without Work http://wvasfm.org/post/plant-closing-leaves-hundreds-without-work <p>ANNISTON, Ala. – The parent company's new owners cleared out remaining stock and closed the facility over the weekend without notice.</p> Tue, 11 Aug 2009 12:41:20 +0000 899 at http://wvasfm.org Special Session Called to Deal with Jefferson County's Financial Crisis http://wvasfm.org/post/special-session-called-deal-jefferson-countys-financial-crisis <p>August 10,2009 – Court rulings earlier this year blocked Jefferson County from spending money from an occupational tax that provides about one-fourth of its annual budget.</p> Mon, 10 Aug 2009 13:19:55 +0000 893 at http://wvasfm.org