Jazz http://wvasfm.org en Fred Hersch Floats On, With A Dynamic Trio In Tow http://wvasfm.org/post/fred-hersch-floats-dynamic-trio-tow The last time <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/14997031/fred-hersch" target="_blank">Fred Hersch</a> was featured on <em>Weekend Edition Saturday</em>, the headline read, "Back On Stage By No Small Miracle." It was 2009, and scarcely a year earlier, the jazz pianist had suffered AIDS-related dementia and fallen into a coma for several months. Since recovering, Hersch has come roaring back to music, releasing a string of live albums to critical success.<em></em><p>A new studio recording by Hersch's trio came out earlier this month; it's called <em>Floating</em>. Sat, 19 Jul 2014 06:03:00 +0000 NPR Staff 51679 at http://wvasfm.org Fred Hersch Floats On, With A Dynamic Trio In Tow Carmen Lundy On Piano Jazz http://wvasfm.org/post/carmen-lundy-piano-jazz <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/16099645/carmen-lundy">Carmen Lundy</a>'s contralto voice perfectly conveys the soul and depth of her compositions. She joined <em>Piano Jazz</em> host <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15123605/marian-mcpartland">Marian McPartland</a> in 1999 to perform <em>Mary Lou's Mass</em> by <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15394732/mary-lou-williams">Mary Lou Williams</a> at the National Cathedral in Washington, D.C.<p>In this <em>Piano Jazz</em> session from 2000, Lundy teams with McPartland again, along with her brother, bassist Curtis Lundy. Fri, 18 Jul 2014 16:54:00 +0000 editor 51653 at http://wvasfm.org Carmen Lundy On Piano Jazz 'Live In The Present': Charlie Haden Remembered http://wvasfm.org/post/live-present-charlie-haden-remembered <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IkudQrnQFHc</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x8eMfc6TjoA</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BeNMnMY9VWE</p> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 15:54:00 +0000 editor 51648 at http://wvasfm.org 'Live In The Present': Charlie Haden Remembered A Sax Trio Taps Tradition While Thriving In The Present http://wvasfm.org/post/sax-trio-taps-tradition-while-thriving-present <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AueMO4N2BLA</p> Tue, 15 Jul 2014 20:58:00 +0000 Tom Moon 51480 at http://wvasfm.org A Sax Trio Taps Tradition While Thriving In The Present The New Thing In Jazz, Revisited http://wvasfm.org/post/new-thing-jazz-revisited Impulse Records is the legendary label that proudly delivered the "new thing" in jazz in the 1960s: avant-garde records from the likes of <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15394783/john-coltrane" target="_blank">John Coltrane</a> and Pharaoh Sanders. It also helped jazz cross over to a larger audience; quite a few flower children bought Impulse albums.<p>But over time, the new thing got old. Impulse went dormant for nearly a decade. Sun, 13 Jul 2014 09:23:00 +0000 NPR Staff 51331 at http://wvasfm.org The New Thing In Jazz, Revisited Remembering Jazz Legend Charlie Haden, Who Crafted His Voice In Bass http://wvasfm.org/post/remembering-jazz-legend-charlie-haden-who-crafted-his-voice-bass <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mJGY-LV1fZ8</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lYzlgETvKaY</p> Fri, 11 Jul 2014 21:59:00 +0000 editor 51291 at http://wvasfm.org Joe Locke On Piano Jazz http://wvasfm.org/post/joe-locke-piano-jazz Known for the emotional range of his solo work, vibraphonist Joe Locke has established himself as a composer, bandleader and educator. He has recorded with artists such as Eddie Henderson and Grover Washington Jr., and he continues to tour worldwide.<p>In this episode of <em>Piano Jazz</em>, Locke performs his original composition "Seven Beauties" on piano, as well as a medley of songs by Joni Mitchell and Carly Simon on vibes. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 21:52:00 +0000 editor 51290 at http://wvasfm.org Joe Locke On Piano Jazz Billy Eckstine: A Crooner Who Crossed Barriers http://wvasfm.org/post/billy-eckstine-crooner-who-crossed-barriers <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LRUKHWJyrbs</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d-HgqDI0424</p> Mon, 07 Jul 2014 20:19:00 +0000 editor 50995 at http://wvasfm.org Billy Eckstine: A Crooner Who Crossed Barriers Les Paul On Piano Jazz http://wvasfm.org/post/les-paul-piano-jazz A phenomenal guitarist and pioneering audio engineer, <a href="http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=111845598">Les Paul</a> has been a major influence in 20th Century music, both as a performer and technical innovator. Thu, 03 Jul 2014 15:04:00 +0000 editor 50816 at http://wvasfm.org Les Paul On Piano Jazz Newport Jazz 2011: Avishai Cohen's Triveni With Anat Cohen, Live In Concert http://wvasfm.org/post/newport-jazz-2011-avishai-cohens-triveni-anat-cohen-live-concert What is it with trumpeter <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/137246879/avishai-cohen" target="_blank">Avishai Cohen</a> and triples lately? He recently recorded a pair of albums with his band Triveni, a free-swinging trio which showcases his fervent imagination. He's also one of three Cohen siblings in jazz's top echelon; Avishai invited his big sister <a href="http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=15384147" target="_blank">Anat</a>, the celebrated clarinet specialist, to join him here. Thu, 03 Jul 2014 14:36:00 +0000 editor 50813 at http://wvasfm.org Newport Jazz 2011: Avishai Cohen's Triveni With Anat Cohen, Live In Concert