Ari Shapiro http://wvasfm.org en The Israeli-Palestinian Conflict, Remixed And Retweeted http://wvasfm.org/post/israeli-palestinian-conflict-remixed-and-retweeted <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cBY-0n4esNY</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YZjxsloZ3HU</p> Sat, 19 Jul 2014 21:15:00 +0000 Ari Shapiro 51712 at http://wvasfm.org The Israeli-Palestinian Conflict, Remixed And Retweeted Israeli Forces Move Into Gaza, 'Terrorist Tunnels' In Cross Hairs http://wvasfm.org/post/israeli-forces-move-gaza-terrorist-tunnels-cross-hairs NPR's Ari Shapiro reports on the latest news from the Gaza Strip, where Israel has undertaken a ground invasion against Hamas operatives. It's the first time in five years that the Israeli military has conducted a ground operation. Fri, 18 Jul 2014 20:40:00 +0000 Ari Shapiro 51666 at http://wvasfm.org On Two Sides, Two Funerals — While Death Toll Mounts In Gaza http://wvasfm.org/post/two-sides-two-funerals-while-death-toll-mounts-gaza As the violence between Hamas and Israel continues, so too do the funerals that come in its wake. NPR correspondents Ari Shapiro and Emily Harris attended two such funerals today, in Tel Aviv and Gaza respectively, and they tell of what they learned there. Wed, 16 Jul 2014 20:19:00 +0000 Ari Shapiro 51541 at http://wvasfm.org A Brief Lull Shatters In Gaza, As Cease-Fire Falls Apart http://wvasfm.org/post/brief-lull-shatters-gaza-cease-fire-falls-apart An attempt at a cease-fire between Israel and Hamas has broken down. Hamas rejected the terms of the cease-fire, and Israel renewed its campaign of air strikes on the Gaza Strip. Tue, 15 Jul 2014 20:21:00 +0000 Ari Shapiro 51473 at http://wvasfm.org Israeli-Gaza Conflict Squeezes Palestinian Leader On All Sides http://wvasfm.org/post/israeli-gaza-conflict-squeezes-palestinian-leader-all-sides While the Israel-Gaza conflict pits Israelis against Palestinians, it has also increased stress within the Palestinian leadership.<p>The Gaza Strip is run by Hamas, which the U.S. considers a terrorist group and favors a strategy of resistance. Tue, 15 Jul 2014 07:40:00 +0000 Ari Shapiro 51425 at http://wvasfm.org Israeli-Gaza Conflict Squeezes Palestinian Leader On All Sides Between Hamas And Israel, What Might An Endgame Look Like? http://wvasfm.org/post/between-hamas-and-israel-end-game-remains-unclear The last time Israel and Hamas fought each other was 2012. Back then, the conflict lasted eight days.<p>Tuesday marks the eighth day of the current conflict between Israel and Hamas, which raises the question: What might it take to bring this fight to a close?<p>Both Israel and Hamas say they are unwilling to sign on to a straightforward, put-down-your-weapons, bare-bones ceasefire. Mon, 14 Jul 2014 20:15:00 +0000 Ari Shapiro 51408 at http://wvasfm.org Between Hamas And Israel, What Might An Endgame Look Like? Among Israelis, Pressure Swells To Commence Ground War In Gaza http://wvasfm.org/post/among-israelis-pressure-swells-commence-ground-war-gaza Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>As we mentioned, no Israelis have been killed by rocket fire, but one strike today did cause severe injuries and damage. Around 8:30 in the morning local time, a rocket struck a gas station in Ashdod. One man was sent to the hospital seriously wounded. NPR's Ari Shapiro reports this increases the internal pressure on Israel to stage a ground invasion.<p>ARI SHAPIRO, BYLINE: A taxi driver Avram Ayash, comes to this gas station every day. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 20:49:00 +0000 Ari Shapiro 51284 at http://wvasfm.org On Opposite Sides Of Israeli-Gaza Border, Feeling The Same Fears http://wvasfm.org/post/opposite-sides-israeli-gaza-border-feeling-same-fears More than 50 Palestinians have been killed and 450 wounded in <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2014/07/09/330059942/israel-strikes-gaza-again-as-violence-and-death-toll-escalate">Israeli airstrikes on the Gaza Strip</a>. Meanwhile, rockets continue to fly toward Israel from Gaza, but so far, no Israelis have been reported killed.<p>For people living in and around the Gaza Strip, this conflict has turned daily routines upside down. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 21:19:00 +0000 Ari Shapiro 51143 at http://wvasfm.org On Opposite Sides Of Israeli-Gaza Border, Feeling The Same Fears For One Crime Writer, Peaceful Shetland Is A Perfect Place For Murder http://wvasfm.org/post/one-crime-writer-peaceful-shetland-perfect-place-murder Crime writer Ann Cleeves puts it best in her novel <a href="http://www.npr.org/books/titles/329526105/dead-water-a-shetland-mystery" target="_blank">Dead Water</a>:<em> </em>"Shetland didn't do pretty. It did wild and bleak and dramatic."<p>The Shetland Islands are a damp and rocky place, with endless miles of green and gray. Humanity seems to cling to the land here like a few tenacious barnacles. "I love the idea of long, low horizons with secrets hidden underneath," Cleeves says.<p>These Scottish islands lie hundreds of miles from any mainland, as far north as the tip of Greenland. Tue, 08 Jul 2014 07:33:00 +0000 Ari Shapiro 51015 at http://wvasfm.org For One Crime Writer, Peaceful Shetland Is A Perfect Place For Murder In Jerusalem, And Caught In A Crossfire Of Thrown Stones http://wvasfm.org/post/jerusalem-and-caught-crossfire-thrown-stones Transcript <p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>This is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED from NPR News. I'm Robert Siegel. Fighting continues today between Israelis and Palestinians. Israel said that Hamas militants fired dozens of rockets into southern Israel. There were no serious injuries reported. That came after Israeli airstrikes in Gaza overnight. Israel denies Hamas claims that those strikes killed some militants. Mon, 07 Jul 2014 20:19:00 +0000 Ari Shapiro 50999 at http://wvasfm.org