Robert Krulwich http://wvasfm.org en 'Why Am I Dead?' He Never Asked. Here's The Answer He Never Heard http://wvasfm.org/post/why-am-i-dead-he-never-asked-heres-answer-he-never-heard Shara Yurkiewicz is a med student. She's doing rounds now, moving from department to department. Much of what she sees, she's seeing for the first time. Not yet a doctor, there are moments, many moments when she has the eyes of a patient. She gets scared. She feels helpless. She's too involved. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 17:57:00 +0000 Robert Krulwich 46514 at http://wvasfm.org 'Why Am I Dead?' He Never Asked. Here's The Answer He Never Heard The Ultimate Animal Experience? Losing A Memory Quiz To A Chimp http://wvasfm.org/post/ultimate-animal-experience-losing-memory-quiz-chimp <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JkNV0rSndJ0</p> Wed, 16 Apr 2014 15:34:00 +0000 Robert Krulwich 46445 at http://wvasfm.org The Power Of Poop: A Whale Story http://wvasfm.org/post/power-poop-whale-story This, I would think, should be self-evident: Generally speaking, big creatures eat smaller creatures that, in turn, eat even smaller creatures, like this ...<p>And just as obviously, one would expect the food chain to be pyramid-shaped: a few big creatures at the top eating more middle-sized creatures in the middle, that eat many, many, many little creatures at the bottom, like so:<p>Which brings me to a curious exception — a real life mystery — discovered a few years ago. Sat, 05 Apr 2014 09:39:00 +0000 Robert Krulwich 45851 at http://wvasfm.org The Power Of Poop: A Whale Story 'Oh, Hello,' Says Andrew, As He Suddenly Grabs You By The Leg Or Neck http://wvasfm.org/post/oh-hello-says-andrew-he-suddenly-grabs-you-leg-or-neck <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wynx1ukwdVA</p> Thu, 03 Apr 2014 16:59:00 +0000 Robert Krulwich 45755 at http://wvasfm.org 'Oh, Hello,' Says Andrew, As He Suddenly Grabs You By The Leg Or Neck The List Of Animals Who Can Truly, Really Dance Is Very Short. Who's On It? http://wvasfm.org/post/list-animals-who-can-truly-really-dance-very-short-whos-it <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N7IZmRnAo6s</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VNKyG4C2VlA</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IqjcXu5QlxY</p> Tue, 01 Apr 2014 17:45:00 +0000 Robert Krulwich 45627 at http://wvasfm.org The List Of Animals Who Can Truly, Really Dance Is Very Short. Who's On It? The Most Unusual Boy Band In The World http://wvasfm.org/post/most-unusual-boy-band-world <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z1zOmOfsy2Q</p> Sat, 29 Mar 2014 12:03:00 +0000 Robert Krulwich 45472 at http://wvasfm.org The Most Unusual Boy Band In The World You Yawn. She Doesn't Yawn Back. Uh-Oh http://wvasfm.org/post/you-yawn-she-doesnt-yawn-back-uh-oh You are at a table for two, sitting with your girlfriend or boyfriend, when, for no good reason (you can't help it, you didn't mean to do it), you yawn. It's a big, gaping, jaw-extending, embarrassing yawn and because you didn't cover your face, oh, God, she/he sees it. A second or two goes by, and then ... something <em>doesn't </em>happen. Tue, 25 Mar 2014 20:04:00 +0000 Robert Krulwich 45237 at http://wvasfm.org You Yawn. She Doesn't Yawn Back. Uh-Oh I Can't Believe What I'm Seeing: A Springtime (Froggy) Miracle http://wvasfm.org/post/i-cant-believe-what-im-seeing-springtime-froggy-miracle Two weeks ago this animal was frozen solid. If you found one in the woods, packed in the topsoil, hiding under a leaf, you could pull it from the ground and it would feel like an ashtray. You could bang it (lightly) on a table — it would go, "Konk!" like a rock. It doesn't seem to be breathing. It reacts to nothing. It's so dead. Or seems to be. And then, this (I want to call it a miracle) happens ...<p>I did this piece when I was host of <em>Nova Science Now,</em> on PBS, and <a href="http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/nova/nature/costanzo-cryobiology.html">the mystery</a> of it still amazes me. Sat, 22 Mar 2014 09:03:00 +0000 Robert Krulwich 45077 at http://wvasfm.org I Can't Believe What I'm Seeing: A Springtime (Froggy) Miracle What's The Biggest Animal Gathering Ever? (Was Rod Stewart There?) http://wvasfm.org/post/whats-biggest-animal-gathering-ever-was-rod-stewart-there It's a small moment in a sprawling Shakespeare play. Most people miss it. A nobleman named Mortimer has been locked up by the king, who decrees: Don't anyone say "Mortimer" in my royal presence. That name is forbidden. But one of Mortimer's allies has a plan. He wants to give the king a little bird, a starling. Fri, 21 Mar 2014 11:23:00 +0000 Robert Krulwich 45032 at http://wvasfm.org What's The Biggest Animal Gathering Ever? (Was Rod Stewart There?) An Imaginary Town Becomes Real, Then Not. True Story http://wvasfm.org/post/imaginary-town-becomes-real-then-not-true-story This is the story of a totally made-up place that suddenly became real — and then, strangely, undid itself and became a fantasy again. Imagine Pinocchio becoming a real boy and then going back to being a puppet. That's what happened here — but this is a true story.<p>It's about a place in upstate New York called Agloe. You can see it here, circled in blue ...<p>... Tue, 18 Mar 2014 20:43:00 +0000 Robert Krulwich 44879 at http://wvasfm.org An Imaginary Town Becomes Real, Then Not. True Story