Shereen Marisol Meraji http://wvasfm.org en Bathrobes And Baby Carriers: The Stuff Of Manliness? http://wvasfm.org/post/bathrobes-and-baby-carriers-stuff-manliness This summer, <em>All Things Considered</em> is looking at the lives of <a href="http://www.npr.org/series/323986426/men-in-america">Men in America</a> and how things have changed — or haven't. Part of that is redefining masculinity, so the show asked me to ask guys about the stuff they equate with manliness today. (Submit your own stories in the <a href="#form">form below</a>.)<p>I started my very unscientific investigation on a Friday night at a Washington, D.C., barbershop. Fresh Cut owner Bernard Fernandez chose his Buick. Fri, 27 Jun 2014 20:20:00 +0000 Shereen Marisol Meraji 50509 at http://wvasfm.org Bathrobes And Baby Carriers: The Stuff Of Manliness? A View On The World Cup, Seen From An LA Bar On A Midweek Morning http://wvasfm.org/post/view-world-cup-seen-la-bar-midweek-morning Fans of the U.S. soccer team gathered across the country to watch Thursday's World Cup match against Germany. More than a thousand people watched the game at Dupont Circle in Washington, D.C., and many others filled Grant Park in Chicago. Meanwhile, NPR's Shereen Marisol Meraji was with fans in Los Angeles, and she offers some of their reactions. <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 NPR. Thu, 26 Jun 2014 20:44:00 +0000 Shereen Marisol Meraji 50436 at http://wvasfm.org In LA, Barbers Cut Hair And Check Blood Pressure http://wvasfm.org/post/la-barbers-cut-hair-and-check-blood-pressure A Los Angeles doctor is training barbers to check their customers for high blood pressure. He's targeting the social hubs for black men because of the health risks associated with hypertension. Sun, 22 Jun 2014 12:01:00 +0000 Shereen Marisol Meraji 50165 at http://wvasfm.org Honored Puerto Rican Army Unit Made A Name For Itself In Korean War http://wvasfm.org/post/honored-puerto-rican-army-unit-made-name-itself-korean-war Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>They fought for the U.S. and countered ethnic stereotypes in the process. Today, President Obama honored the Puerto Rican soldiers of the 65th Infantry Regiment. The president signed legislation recognizing the veterans for their military valor. Tue, 10 Jun 2014 20:33:00 +0000 Shereen Marisol Meraji 49504 at http://wvasfm.org Before 'Brown V. Board,' Mendez Fought California's Segregated Schools http://wvasfm.org/post/brown-v-board-mendez-fought-californias-segregated-schools Sylvia Mendez says the only reason she wanted to go to an all-white school in California's Westminster District in the 1940s was because of its beautiful playground. The school that she and other Latino students were forced to attend didn't have monkey bars or swings.<p>"I was 9 years old," she says. "I just thought my parents wanted us to go to the nice-looking school."<p>But her parents, Gonzalo and Felicitas, were fighting for integration. Seven years before the Supreme Court's landmark decision in <em>Brown v. Fri, 16 May 2014 07:39:00 +0000 Shereen Marisol Meraji 48136 at http://wvasfm.org Before 'Brown V. Board,' Mendez Fought California's Segregated Schools Lending Circles Help Latinas Pay Bills And Invest http://wvasfm.org/post/lending-circles-help-latinas-pay-bills-and-invest <em>As part of its Changing Lives of Women series, </em>Morning Edition<em> is exploring women and their relationship with money: saving, purchasing and investing for themselves and their families. Tue, 01 Apr 2014 07:05:00 +0000 Shereen Marisol Meraji 45586 at http://wvasfm.org Lending Circles Help Latinas Pay Bills And Invest LAPD Pays Tribute To Josephine Serrano Collier, A Latina Pioneer http://wvasfm.org/post/lapd-pays-tribute-josephine-serrano-police-pioneer-latinas Transcript <p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>A moment now to remember a woman who broke new ground on the LAPD. Josephine Serrano Collier(ph) was the first Mexican-American woman on the force. She's now died at age 91. NPR's Shereen Marisol Meraji tells us more.<p>SHEREEN MARISOL MERAJI, BYLINE: Josephine Serrano Collier grew up in a Los Angeles when it was perfectly fine to put a sign in the business window that read, sorry, no Mexicans. Wed, 19 Mar 2014 20:31:00 +0000 Shereen Marisol Meraji 44934 at http://wvasfm.org Why Chaucer Said 'Ax' Instead Of 'Ask,' And Why Some Still Do http://wvasfm.org/post/why-chaucer-said-ax-instead-ask-and-why-some-still-do <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X0aB-f_pHfs</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jHZwOqLrF2M</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J7E-aoXLZGY</p> Tue, 03 Dec 2013 22:01:00 +0000 Shereen Marisol Meraji 39084 at http://wvasfm.org Why Chaucer Said 'Ax' Instead Of 'Ask,' And Why Some Still Do An East L.A. Football Rivalry, Unchanged For 79 Years http://wvasfm.org/post/east-la-football-rivalry-unchanged-79-years An East Los Angeles rivalry has become the largest high school football game west of the Mississippi. The football teams of Garfield High School and Roosevelt High School will meet on the gridiron Friday night for the 79th year. The game is expected to draw 20,000 fans. Fri, 01 Nov 2013 21:51:00 +0000 Shereen Marisol Meraji 37420 at http://wvasfm.org The Whitest Historically Black College In America http://wvasfm.org/post/whitest-historically-black-college-america It opened in the late 19th century as the Bluefield Colored Institute, created to educate the children of black coal miners in segregated West Virginia. Although it still receives the federal funding that comes with its designation as a historically black institution, today Bluefield State College is 90 percent white. Fri, 18 Oct 2013 07:08:00 +0000 Shereen Marisol Meraji 36588 at http://wvasfm.org The Whitest Historically Black College In America