Renee Montagne http://wvasfm.org en An Afghan Village Of Drug Addicts, From Ages 10 To 60 http://wvasfm.org/post/afghan-village-drug-addicts-ages-10-60 Herat is one of the most graceful cities in Afghanistan. Wed, 30 Apr 2014 07:31:00 +0000 Renee Montagne 47209 at http://wvasfm.org An Afghan Village Of Drug Addicts, From Ages 10 To 60 Fed Signals It Won't Tap Brakes Until Job Market Improves http://wvasfm.org/post/fed-signals-it-wont-tap-brakes-until-job-market-improves David Wessel of the Brookings Institution talks about Janet Yellen's first policy meeting and press conference since taking over as chairwoman of the Federal Reserve. Thu, 20 Mar 2014 09:06:00 +0000 Renee Montagne 44954 at http://wvasfm.org Beyond Beans: Starbucks Seeks To Branch Out From Coffee http://wvasfm.org/post/beyond-beans-starbucks-seeks-branch-out-coffee Starbucks is testing an evening menu that includes wine at more than 25 locations. Now, the company's chief operating officer says it plans to offer its nighttime fare at thousands of U.S. stores. Thu, 20 Mar 2014 09:06:00 +0000 Renee Montagne 44949 at http://wvasfm.org South Africans Engrossed By Pistorius Trial http://wvasfm.org/post/pistorius-trial-sparks-conversations-about-domestic-violence-race Host Renee Montagne talks to Erin Conway-Smith, southern Africa editor for GlobalPost, about the murder trial of Olympic hero Oscar Pistorius. Tue, 18 Mar 2014 08:44:00 +0000 Renee Montagne 44825 at http://wvasfm.org Oscar Nods Go To 'American Hustle,' 'Gravity,' '12 Years A Slave' http://wvasfm.org/post/oscar-nods-go-american-hustle-gravity-12-years-slave Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>Oscar nominations are in. They were announced this morning in Beverly Hills. And "American Hustle" and "Gravity" are the early front-runners. Each of them got 10 Academy Award nominations, including best picture. "12 Years a Slave" was close behind with nine nominations. For more, we're joined now by Linda Holmes, who writes and edits NPR's entertainment and pop culture blog Monkey See. Good morning.<p>LINDA HOLMES, BYLINE: Good morning to you.<p>MONTAGNE: All right. Thu, 16 Jan 2014 20:07:00 +0000 Renee Montagne 41396 at http://wvasfm.org N.J. Gov. Christie Faces Traffic Jam Scandal http://wvasfm.org/post/nj-gov-christie-faces-traffic-jam-scandal Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>This is MORNING EDITION from NPR News. Good morning, I'm David Greene.<p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>And I'm Renee Montagne.<p>A controversy over a traffic jam is turning into a full-blown political scandal for New Jersey Governor Chris Christie. Emails and text messages released yesterday seem to show that one of his top aides initiated the closing of two key lanes onto the heavily trafficked George Washington Bridge into New York City; also that other aides were in the loop on the plan. Thu, 09 Jan 2014 10:18:00 +0000 Renee Montagne 40918 at http://wvasfm.org Justice Sotomayor Blocks Part Of Birth Control Mandate http://wvasfm.org/post/justice-sotomayor-blocks-part-birth-control-mandate Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>It's MORNING EDITION, from NPR News. Good morning. I'm Renee Montagne. Last night, Supreme Court Justice Sonia Sotomayer presided over the raucous New Year's Eve countdown in Times Square. But before that, she was working, issuing a ruling that puts into doubt part of the Obamacare health insurance law. A portion of the law was supposed to take effect today. It would offer insurance for birth control to workers in businesses affiliated with religions. Wed, 01 Jan 2014 15:27:00 +0000 Renee Montagne 40516 at http://wvasfm.org Rose Bowl Highlights College Football Game Day http://wvasfm.org/post/rose-bowl-highlights-college-football-game-day Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>January 1st is the day college football fans dream about - or, at least they used to. Not too long ago, it featured the big event: the last and biggest of the bowl games. We'll have to wait until next Monday for the BCS championship, but no worry, there are still some good games on tap for today. And here with a preview is NPR's Mike Pesca. Good morning.<p>MIKE PESCA, BYLINE: Hello.<p>MONTAGNE: Six games today, Mike. Which are the big ones?<p>PESCA: Well, I know you want me to say the TaxSlayer.com Gator Bowl, Renee. Wed, 01 Jan 2014 11:10:00 +0000 Renee Montagne 40510 at http://wvasfm.org Mayor Bill De Blasio Takes Office In New York City http://wvasfm.org/post/mayor-bill-de-blasio-takes-office-new-york-city Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>New York City ushered in the New Year last night with its famous crystal ball, and also the swearing in of a new mayor. Just after midnight, Bill de Blasio was sworn into office in a private ceremony in the yard of his row house in Brooklyn. He's the first Democratic mayor in 20 years. Wed, 01 Jan 2014 10:16:00 +0000 Renee Montagne 40508 at http://wvasfm.org Hard-Fought Budget Deal On Its Way To The Senate http://wvasfm.org/post/hard-fought-budget-deal-its-way-senate The House passes the House-Senate budget compromise after Speaker John Boehner criticizes conservative groups — and implicitly their allies in Congress — for their opposition. Next stop: the Senate. Fri, 13 Dec 2013 12:52:00 +0000 Renee Montagne 39627 at http://wvasfm.org